Daily Archives: September 3, 2009

Trying on Men is like trying on Shoes

I have a husband.  No, I’m not married.  But one day, I am going to be and I will therefore have a husband.  It is kind of like being in 7th grade and knowing what highschool you are going to attend and calling it ‘your’ high school.  It’s already yours because you know it’s going to happen.

I have no doubt in my mind that God has created someone for me.  He is just making him great and super awesome before he’s ready to meet me.  At that time he will fall madly in love with me, sweep me off my feet and put a pretty little (or big) ring on my finger.  We will marry, have children and live happily ever after.

Are you laughing?  If I were you, I’m sure I’d be. 

The truth is, I am single, very single, and I’m not saying I’m disappointed.  I was in relationships for the entirity of my teenage life.  Locked up from 13-19.  I hit 20 and viola: I gained my independence.  I became a person who was happy being me, spending time with friends, learning from poeple and learning about myself.  I became just Shannon in stead of “you know Shannon, ______’s girlfriend?” or “Maybe Shannon and _____ would like to join?” It was a change for me, and not a bad one.  Two years later (and counting), I can confidently say it has been a good thing for my confidence and a booster in my friendships. 

This is not to say that if you are in a relationship that you have traded in your independence, you are insecure, and you have lost all friends.  I am simply relaying to you what I have gained in the two years of being on my own.  Things you very well may be or have and have always been, with or without your significant other.

This does not mean that for the last 2 years I have not been looking.  I have looked. 

I think trying on men is like trying on shoes.  I easily compare it to expensive shoe shopping.  The shoes are cute, yet come with a price.  If you are going to make the investement, you must wear them a lot, treat them nicely and live with a few blisters until you’ve worn them in.  I always walk into a store, try on a cute pair, walk around the store a few times and then decide that the uncertainty of whether or not they’re worth the cost makes me unable to commit.  Cute shoe though, just not fore me.  I’m sure they’ll make someone else very happy.

I’m more a non-commital, $6 dollar Target clearance shoe kind of girl.  You can get them cheap, wear them daily, throw them in your trunk, trek them to the beach, and all the while if you lost them they are easily replacable.  No strings, no commitments, no complications.

One day though, when I’m ready (and my bank account permits) I will take the step and buy the expensive gorgeous shoe that I can’t keep my eyes off of.  They will captivate me and give me no choice but to buy them.  When I first try them on I will feel they’re just perfect, even with my two different sized feet (only 1/2 a size difference, nothing creepy).  It’s yet another Cinderella story. 

As they say, if the shoe fits….  When mine does, I’ll know, and I promise to blog about it.

Until then, all my love is for you guys (and my favorite flippy floppys), coupled with some innocently flirting with some surfers on the beach.  Your freshman out-of-love, S.

5 Comments

Filed under Chapter 1