Sometimes- Good things just kinda happen :)

If you haven’t seemed to notice, every day of the last few months of my freshman year of life have all seemed to share a common theme: Sometimes you have to go through the bad to get to the good. 

I have only written a few blog posts since my return to Minnesota, mostly because I have nothing to write about.  Since February 1, my life has been filled with job searching, house searching, applications, interviews, packing and unpacking, paying bills without pay checks and coping with some changes taking place within my family.  Needless to say, I’ve been busy, but not so much in a good way.

I reminded myself as often as possible to make a list of the things I’m thankful for.  One particular day in March, I wrote: Good parents, working parents, food, shelter, clothing, my church, genuine friends, education and hope.  Writing these things down kept my mind at ease that while it may seem that life wasn’t agreeing with me, there was always something there to be thankful for. 

Lately, I’ve been writing down my prayers.  Thanking God for things, asking God for things, and just telling God some things.  That way, I can go back and see what the positive things in my life, how my prayers have been answered, and what incredible ways God is working in my life.

I now feel like I have a theory for what God has been doing since I returned to Minnesota.  He was filling up my bucket of blessings.  Seven days ago, God decided to pour out the bucket of blessings, all at the same time.  And let me tell you, I’m extremely grateful. 

He has blessed me with a clear mind and a stress free outlook, after spending nights up late wondering when I would be able to relax.  He has blessed me with motivation to go on long walks alone or with my mom, helping me to feel good and enjoy this beautiful spring weather.  He has blessed me with a refreshing addition to my life, that has added to my daily joy.  He has blessed me with a father who provides for me a wonderful new home and really great steak on the grill, who also doesn’t mind watching American Idol with me.  He has blessed me with a JOB waitressing at Jakes to give me a structure, schedule, and an income, while also giving me just another life experience.  He also blessed me with a weekend away volunteering with my church as a counselor for seven great 8th grade girls, where I learned just as much from them about living out your faith as I hope they did from me and Pastor Aaron.  If that isn’t enough, he tipped the bucket upside down one more time and tapped it so the last blessing could pour out.

Cabin Canada 🙂

I was blessed to have discovered what I want to do in my life.  My growing passion this past year in the areas of counseling and working with youth led me to a place where I could realize my gift.  This weekend, I was blessed to spend three wonderful days with many young girls that have shared their lives with me.  One in particular had ADD and Asperger’s Syndrome, while also being allergic to Dairy.  While some may think of her differences as disabilities or disorders, I was struck by her ability to love, and to learn, and the unique beauty of her young heart.  I learned how important it was to be patient and understanding.  I learned to listen carefully and proceed in conversations cautiously.  I learned to work through tough moments with her instead of giving up and passing on.  I discovered that my passion is to work with children with autism.

After researching graduate schools, possible job opportunities, and the pathway to reaching my dream, I found that I have a LOT left to learn about what my potential career entails.  Something else I learned, however, is that I’m more than willing to do whatever I have to do to get there because I’d rather be passionate and poor from student loans than have lots of money and be miserable.

As an added bonus, God blessed me with a great new friend and co-church volunteer who I decided to sit with on the busride home from the retreat.  Her father just happens to run a family clinic dealing with a broad range of areas including the one I’m interested in!  A meeting with him is exactly what I need to get a head start in the race to persuing my passion.

I am incredibly grateful that God chose these last seven days to reveal these gifts to me.  As I mentioned in my last post, sometimes you have to go through the hard times to really appreciate how great the good times are. 

I hope that in your quiet moments, you will remember to make a list of the things you are thankful for, even when there seems to be very few things you can think of.  If you have hope, you’ll always have that to be grateful for.  AND, if you have hope, there is usually more to come.

Just be patient, if it hasn’t yet, your bucket is coming.  Give him some time to fill it up 🙂

In the mean time, enjoy your life~ you are wonderfully and beautifully made.

*Even youth grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary; they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah 40: 30-31

Leave a comment

Filed under Chapter 2

Leave a comment